The first building to be erected in Howick was All Saints Anglican Church and this is still a fine example of early colonial architecture. The church is the second oldest wooden church in New Zealand and is still a popular choice for weddings.
The second building to be erected was a wet canteen that was subsequently improved to become the “Royal Hotel”. The former “Shamrock Cottage” restaurant can be seen on Selwyn Road.
Howick was named after the Rt. Hon. Sir Henry George Grey, Viscount Howick and later the 3rd Earl Grey. He was secretary for the colonies from 1846 – 1852 and resided at Howick Hall, Howick, Northumberland, England.
Many of the original Fencible families who came out have streets named after them and their descendants still live in the area. The life they lead and the hardships they endured can be discovered at the Howick Historical Village, a living museum of the Fencible era and a fascinating showcase of colonial New Zealand.